home and home

30 Sep
Well, not sure what to say really. I’m back. Britain is full of gringos and everybody speaks English and you can flush the toilet paper down the loo. These are the weirdest things. On the other hand, there is fresh air!!! And rain! You can see the blue sky even when it’s cold! And I can walk round town on my own without fearing for my life. These are the cool things.
I’m not even going to attempt to write here everything that I have learnt over the past two months or how it was going back. But briefly? Err..  it was a real pleasure to be allowed some time to think about things, and being given that time in my favourite place, my second home. And was amazing to catch up with people I love, including family, who I haven’t seen for two years, and to be able to revisit the place that helped change my life in a big way. What an honour, thankyou so much Padre! It was equally cool, but very different from being there with the team. But I realised that’s partly cos I have changed so much – and that is in a large part due to going to Peru in the first place! Haha.. it was cool to see that. God has been proven right about a lot of things he said to me when I left last time.
I’m gonna miss everyone all over again, plus of course lots of people who I never met the first time – great that’s extra people to miss. But one thing I did learn was that at last, I actually do like Britain, and missed Oxford in particular. I think I missed home like a normal person does. :o) So you can’t have it both ways. Anyway, I think I’ll be back. I’m too involved now.
In other news, my goddaughter is highly intelligent for a 3 year-old but has far too much energy and is spoilt by her oldest brother. She can count to 5 in three languages though. And is a little comedian.
Writing this is a sure sign that I have lots of other things I should be doing… I’m supposed to be packing, and trying to remember whether or not I did my holiday work. I do hope so.  
2 Responses to “home and home”

  1. Unilliterate_Simon 05/10/2005 at 10:28 pm #

    um feel slightly bad putting something not remotely relevant… but, yeah Mel, scariness will result in mockery! Nice to see ya this evening…eventually…it all almost qualified as exercise – Sx

  2. MelGeorge 05/10/2005 at 10:28 pm #

    I entirely blame Matt, it was nothing to do with me. I told him you'd get lost even if he directed you correctly.. P teehee

Leave a Reply

