Apostrophe abuse

5 Oct
Good to be back in beautiful Oxford, especially to be living in such a quality turret… never been so excited by stairs before. Although, I do miss the comraderie of the House of Chemistry. It’s a bit more of an effort to see people now… and can’t hear anyone laughing and having fun ;o)
For the benefit of the pedants, I have discovered maybe the worst abuse of an apostrophe I’ve seen for a long time. The instructions for the waste disposal in my kitchen read:
"If this doe’s not remedy the situation…"
ARGH! How on earth do you get there?! ‘Doe’ isn’t even a word! Okay well not in this context anyway. The pain. If it was in the street I might not care so much, but I think you shouldn’t have to be exposed to such apostrophetic brutality in Oxford University.
I love the fact that there are actually people here who might say "hear hear!". We’re so weird.
5 Responses to “Apostrophe abuse”

  1. Geoff 07/10/2005 at 10:28 pm #

    Hmm…. the college do well! There is a notice in our kitchen which reads "NOTICE TO ALL RESIDENCE".Basic language skills aren't their strong point!

  2. AlmostReadytoFly 10/10/2005 at 10:28 pm #

    That one could be considered almost correct, if you want to give people unreasonable benefit of the doubt, and take residence to mean the house and everyone in it.

  3. MelGeorge 11/10/2005 at 10:28 pm #

    yeah, but in that case shouldn't it be: "notice to whole residence"?Shudder.

  4. AmoebaJim 14/10/2005 at 10:28 pm #

    I think you're being unneccessarily harsh on the poor doe and it's miraculous notremedy.

  5. MelGeorge 14/10/2005 at 10:28 pm #

    Jim – first I laughed, but then I saw the horrific irony of what you just wrote.What did you just do?!I wish I didn't have the apostrophe reflex, life would be so much less irritating – and so would I… sorry.

Leave a Reply

