Grown-up Christmas

27 Dec
Had a lovely Christmas – how was yours? Had lunch with 16 family members, it got up to 20 eventually. Namely my auntie and uncle, grandad, step-gran, 4 cousins, 3 cousins’ husbands and 4 children, and my cousins’ uncle and aunt on the other side. Oh and my parents and me. And the dog.
But probably partly due to lack of my sister, I think it was the first Christmas I embraced being a – gasp – adult, rather than trying to make it how it used to be when you were a kid. My wee cute cousins-once-removed were going "oh come ooooon, get down from the table, let’s go and open presents!" and I remember vividly when that was me. Doesn’t seem like long ago. How could grown-ups sit around when they’d plainly finished their meal, and just drink wine very slowly and talk for hours? I just wanted to get down and play with my new stuff! So it was a bit odd to watch the cousins doing that this year and realise I had become one of those annoying grown-ups sitting round drinking wine slowly and talking for hours.
There was also a bizarre moment when my cousin Lorie (aged 8) asked me how old I was. "I’m… er… I’m 22!!" I replied, rather shocked at having to give that answer. I expected to say something like 15. "How did that happen?!" Rather odd having always been the youngest of the family at Christmases past. But, nevertheless, it was fun :o) Time to enjoy being grown-up I guess. Well, supposedly grown-up. And I beat my Dad at air hockey. Although, so did Lorie…  
4 Responses to “Grown-up Christmas”

  1. Unilliterate_Simon 29/12/2005 at 10:27 pm #

    all the comments I would give are just to obvious…

  2. MelGeorge 29/12/2005 at 10:27 pm #

    all the comebacks I would give TO that would leave you just TOO appalled at your illiteracy…

  3. Unilliterate_Simon 30/12/2005 at 10:27 pm #

    aghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

  4. Unilliterate_Simon 02/01/2006 at 10:27 pm #

    and traitor!!!i am not a bully!!! they're wrong!! I'm right!!Simonx, celebrating moral victorybtw happy matt's birthday

Leave a Reply

