where your treasure is, there your heart will be also

9 Apr

Thought this might be of interest. Here’s what some people who have no stuff have taught me about having stuff (in rough translation/quotation).

“Having things is very complicated. The mentality of the world is to measure success in having things and building up more, and hoarding them. It’s with this mentality that Dad built our house, and stores all our valuables, and keeps improving and buying more things… and now we have to have security and all these locks on the doors, and a gun, and be really careful all the time. It doesn’t matter to me whether I have things or don’t have things, but having things is more complicated.” – Henrry; Zapallal, Peru.

“If you’re in need, people should give to you. But they don’t, so you have to ask. And when you ask, they get angry and you feel guilty.” – J; Oxford.

“Consumerism is ridiculous. It’s like, people look at me, and they look down on me just because they own some things and I don’t. But when you think about it, that’s crazy. It’s like they say; I came into the world with nothing and I’ll leave it with nothing. And we’re all just the same in that way. But they think that people like them are different from people like me just because their lives revolve around spending money and getting more money and more things. Me, I don’t see life that way; that’s not what it’s all about, but they can’t see that because they’re blinded and controlled by this consumerism. It’s sad really… I live in a shed. It’s warm in there; I’ve got some blankets.” – James the poet; Oxford.

“Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions… The ground of a certain rich man produced a good crop. He thought to himself, ‘What shall I do? I have no place to store my crops.’ Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. And I’ll say to myself, ‘You have plenty of good things laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.’ But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’” – Jesus; Judea.

Leave a Reply

