I Know

4 Aug
How dare you care so much?
How dare you know me so well?
How dare your love be so unshakable
Your embrace so unbreakable?
When you are both outside
and inside
Where can I possibly hide?
When I want to put up a wall
to keep out your compassion
I discover it’s too thin
or that I’ve only bricked you in.
And it’s impossible to argue
or to rage at you for long.
Disarmed – not by your infallibility,
but your crippling understanding.
You can answer in one word
a question I didn’t know I was asking.
How dare you tear up my platitudes
And lay bare the blinding truth?
You are not afraid
to speak the thoughts I was trying to hide.
You show me my own soul
and then reach to make it whole.
I don’t want to be carried.
I don’t want to cry.
But you take my feet from under me,
destroy my pretense of strength
with one deep and simple blow:
By saying just, “I Know.”
One Response to “I Know”

  1. Charley 11/08/2008 at 10:25 pm #

    Wow. I really like this Mel. It is so true xx

Leave a Reply

