No-one at home

15 Aug
Here’s why my summer holiday has included a little bit of travel-envy:
Amy is on a world tour
Sarah and Na are in Scotland
Sophie is in China
Simon is in the Philippines
Ella is in India
Alice is in India too
Katy is in Hong Kong
Charlie is in Australia
The other Charlie is in South Africa
My parents went to Switzerland
My sister was in China
Fergus is in the Middle East
Hannah is in Egypt
Kate is in Malawi
Chilvers is in Zambia
… and I … went to Weston-Super-Mare.
(And if you join up all those points on a map, they make a rough outline of Alan Titchmarsh’s head.)
I’m not bitter. I needed to be in the country this time, and I’ve had more than my fair share! Just seems like an abnormal amount of travelling going on, don’t you reckon?! Let’s hear some solidarity from those whose British summer has consisted of temp jobs that their shiny new degree just about qualifies them to do… If only you had taken a BSc in Photocopying Studies, you’d be millionaires by now, or at least employable.
3 Responses to “No-one at home”

  1. James Edwards-Smallbone 16/08/2006 at 10:25 pm #

    I feel your pain! I think I owe a lot to my degree in getting me my current position as temporary junior merchandise relocation and ennumeration technician.

  2. Leon Harrington 17/08/2006 at 10:25 pm #

    Me too! Camberley camberley camberley. Three months! Arrrgh.
    And counting millions of pounds that’s not yours isn’t much fun either.

  3. James Muscat 29/09/2006 at 10:25 pm #

    I know it’s a bit of a late reply… but I went to Weston-Super-Mare too! (Only for half a day though. It rained.)

Leave a Reply

