the Lord gave…

26 Oct
FRODO: I wish the ring had never come to me! I wish none of this had happened!
GANDALF: So do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given you.
Finding that strangely profound.
I remember that when I was leaving Peru after the 5 most amazing and full and exciting months of my life, having to be torn away from a place I had felt more at home than I ever had anywhere, and people I loved in a deeper way than almost anyone, I said in a 19 year-old rage: "It’s not fair! Latin Link are horrible!! How can they do this?! How can they send us here and then make us leave?! God you cannot take this away from me!"
And then I quite promptly laughed at myself. What was the alternative? Would I have swapped those 5 months for another 5 working in Blackwell’s Bookshop at the top of Park Street, leaving the house at 8 and getting home at 7 to go to bed and get up again to go to work and alphabetise shelves for 8 hours? Blissfully unaware of the amazing things I could have been seeing and doing? No sadder for leaving because I never arrived?
Whatever. That half a year filled me with amazing memories, made timelessly steadfast friendships, changed me quite fundamentally – the way I saw the world and people, the way I thought and most of all the way I followed Jesus – and so they affected the course and the manner of the rest of my life.
Nah. Parting is really hard, but only because you’ve been so graciously provided for in the first place.
Would it have been better to have never had these things, so that there’s no grief when they’re taken away?
No way. Thank God for the privilege of those times. It was worth it. So worth it. And I’m not talking about Peru.
Leave a Reply

