Oh yes, Oxford…

6 Dec
Tonight I have spent a 3 course meal talking largely about gynaecology with a bunch of eminent doctors. Even that wouldn’t put you off those amazing desserts though.
This odd dinner reminds me a little of last Saturday, which I spent at a wedding and at which, by virtue of being the best man’s bird, I got to attend the rather amazing hog roast. Now, I’ve been away from Oxford students for a while, and back in the day it was quite normal to discuss entropy or philosophy over dinner. In fact, it was practically guarenteed. But now when I am occassionally in that company I realise again how odd it is. Saturday was a beautiful case in point. Over the wedding dinner, the five men at my table ended up trying to disprove the rules of trigonometry on a napkin. Really.
Not to over psychoanalyse, but it strikes me that blokey competativeness is made manifest in a slightly strange way in the Oxford male. Instead of cheering at the football, they try to vanquish mathematics.
I will forever remember the waitress trying to take their plates and Joe Tomlinson looking up and saying, "oh sorry – we were just doing some trigonometry."
Bless you, guys. :o)
3 Responses to “Oh yes, Oxford…”

  1. Unilliterate_Simon 07/12/2006 at 10:24 pm #

    Oh dear, I don’t think I can be a real Oxford male… not only have I never discussed trigonometry over truffles, I don’t think I’ve ever discussed anything academic over anything edible… Sure, I say "I love Ginny and Janey", but such comments would be unwelcome in an essay… p.s. ooooo Neighbours getting spooky!miss ya Sx

  2. Unilliterate_Simon 07/12/2006 at 10:24 pm #

    p.s. why is 4 above 3 in your formal hall list?

  3. mel 07/12/2006 at 10:24 pm #

    because I am not an IT geek and can’t work out how to rearrange them.

Leave a Reply

