conversations about a leg.

11 Apr
Now that my leg is more or less officially better, I hope I don’t have cause to talk about it much ever again. There’s only so much time you can fill having the conversation:
"So!.. How’s your leg doing?"
"Getting better, thanks. But I won’t know til they x-ray it."
"Ahh. Does it still hurt much?"
"No, not really."
"Ahh."
over and over and over again.
That’s not to sound ungrateful for people’s concern, by the way. It’s just that there are other things in the world to talk about.
However, in the past three months…
I discovered that every taxi driver in Oxford has either broken their leg in the past, or had a son who broke his leg. I’ve been the helpless hearer of their stories about the surgery they had which went horribly wrong and caused a huge infection, or the way their sons tried to go straight back to work and then bent their internal metalwork and had to have their operations done all over again, or – and I kid you not – the detailed account one taxi driver gave me of how they removed the screws from his ankle under local anaesthetic with a screwdriver.
"It didn’t hurt," he said, cheerily, "but I could feel them screwing out of my bone".
Everybody who’s fervently hoping to get better quickly wants to hear stories like those.
I think the oddest conversation I’ve had forced upon me was the other week at the bus stop. An old man made his way purposefully towards me, and looked me up and down with an appraising squint.
"What’d you do, then?"
"Got knocked off my bike," I replied.
"Oooooh. Broke you leg, did you?" he asked with relish.
"Yep," I replied, adding a "but it’s getting better now," that I hoped might end the conversation. I was wrong.
"Did the bone pierce the flesh?" he asked.
I was a little taken aback by this. "Eww!" I wanted to say. "Please shut up, I don’t particularly want to think about that."
"Er – no, thankfully," I managed.
He looked a little disappointed. "It often does, you know. The sharp ends of the bones go right through the flesh."
I think I just nodded and went "mmm" at this point, and then went to study the bus timetable with great concentration. Luckily his bus turned up before mine and we were sadly parted. 
Well, just what WILL we talk about from now on?
Everything else, I hope.
3 Responses to “conversations about a leg.”

  1. Unilliterate_Simon 16/04/2007 at 10:23 pm #

    Oops.. I *may* have had that conversation with you every time I’ve seen you for the past few months.But we can now talk about any of the following:a) your negligible heightb) your incredible agec) a possible inverse proportionality between the two

  2. abi beese 27/04/2007 at 10:23 pm #

    i think ur blog is cool kk

  3. Hrolf 01/05/2007 at 10:23 pm #

    So… how’s your leg?

Leave a Reply

