Mother Theresa and the Ukulele Man

12 Oct
Hwell, it has been a little while since I have written anything on here so I’m not sure whether to make it whimsical or terribly serious. Maybe since life is a combo of both, both can be accommodated.
Last week I was amused to see in my paycheque that for the first time ever, I had some of my student debt removed by the powers that be. They reclaimed the substantial sum of £1. That’ll make all the difference come winter.
Jim the Uke was up at the weekend and it was pretty cool to go round Goldsmith’s new place and still be hanging out, though in rather different surrounds. It also makes me laugh when I remember David being a very enthusiastic fresher in our fresher’s week, going out at every opportunity, and I see him in his freshers’ week now with a collection of different teas, a teapot and a pair of old man slippers, quietly working away. How times change.
So apart from that, I’ve been readjusting to being a team of one, and to almost all of my friends no longer being students, which means that on my days off I can no longer spontaneously go round someone’s house and arse around. They are either all at work, or in another city. It’s got a bit lonelier round here. I’m also reading a book which will ruin your life. It’s one of those books that you are afraid to finish because if you do, you will have to go and do something about it. Hits you over the head with the challenging stick. The challenging tree, in fact. I’ll share some exceedingly pertinent quotes from it, and from Mother Theresa (who features!):
“Today the church is tempted by the spectacular, to do big, miraculous things so people might believe, but Jesus has called us to littleness and compares our revolution to the little mustard seed, to yeast making its way through dough, slowly infecting this dark world with love.” (Shane Claiborne)
“We are called not to be successful but to be faithful….. We can do no great things, just small things with great love. It is not how much you do, but how much love you put into doing it.” (Mother Theresa)
Oh my goodness, I, and we, need to really learn that. Small things done with great love made me think of small things which are very weighty, which actually have a much greater impact than large, light things that float to the ground and don’t make any impression at all. If we all really, really poured all of our love into the small things that have been put before us… that would truly change things. Like yeast, slowly but surely.
There was something else related I was thinking about too, but I’ll shut up and save that for another day. Something much more exciting to wait for is James’ “difficult second album” which I can reveal is in the pipeline. Oh, and I think I’m finally allowed to say that, God willing, I shall before too long be the world’s coolest Cool Auntie Mel! :oD
Leave a Reply

