Looking back

31 Dec
Well, we are into the final hours of 2007 already (I swear last Christmas was only a couple of weeks ago). So as it’s already 2008 in Australia, now is the time for the annual cheesy blog quiz about the year. If you are really interested, you can read last year’s rather depressing offering here. And fill it out yourself if you feel like pondering your year.
1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?
Had two paying jobs at once. Did a GNVQ. Was in an RTA. Lost consciousness. Went to hospital. Broke a bone. Had surgery. Used a wheelchair… etc. etc. Visited some new places. Went to the wedding of two strangers. Owned a cat. Graduated from Uni. Had a breakup. Got a REAL Christmas tree. Watched (most of) The Great Escape. Patted my sister’s pregnant tummy. Went wassailing ;o)
2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Yes, actually! I resolved to start learning the guitar, which has indeed come to pass, and I have almost finished doing the 365 photo project which was the other one! I haven’t thought of anything for next year yet, but it probably ought to involve doing some token sport…
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Yes, both my cousins Carolyn and Michele, and Nom Bilson.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
Thank God – no. Unless you count Little B the hamster (alas), and Mike the Bike (alas indeed). And I did a pretty good job of almost managing it myself.

5. What countries did you visit?
Poland, Wales and Italy.

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
Ummmmm… selflessness?! And a car. Hahaha

7. What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Jan 10th – the infamous accident. My graduation day ought to, but I can’t remember it, so guess that’s a no. Soul Survivor this summer was very special and memorable too.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Probably finishing Year Team fairly sane actually, and learning to walk again!
9. What was your biggest failure?
Holding a course that two people turned up to? To be honest, most things that ought to fail generally work out okay thanks to God anyway and he judges "success" and "failure" a lot differently to us. I don’t believe my love life was a waste of time either.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Just a bit, I think it’s good to break your first bone nice and properly :o) 

11. What was the best thing you bought?
I think the best things I got this year were free – presents and donations mainly (and the borrowing of Tim’s old guitar)! Perhaps the trip to Rome, my life-changing bookcase, and some revolutionary new socks.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Dave Newell – I couldn’t have done this year without you. Amazing. My poor, patient housemates who had to wait on me for far too long, and everyone who pushed me round in a wheelchair. The JR’s surgeons. Ian the inspiringly patient. And all who listened to me rant (specially Westi and Simran, as usual, and whose behaviour generally merits celebration anyway).
13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Whoever passed the flipping ridiculous byelaws about begging in Oxford town centre. The makers of Big Brother. The summer weather. Myself, from time to time. 

14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent, bills, food, public transport, in that order.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Jesus, good news from people on the streets, getting a cat, Tamsyn being pregnant!
16. What song will always remind you of 2007?
That one that goes "woo-hoo, YEEE-hoo" always reminds me of driving to Teesside and cruising in the Van of Death around Poland with Jonny Lev.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
Happier, thanks be to God.
b) thinner or fatter?
Possibly slightly thinner and I don’t know why.

c) richer or poorer?
If anything, slightly poorer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Praying, writing letters, seeing old college friends (these rarely change, do they?).

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Faffing on the internet. Being disgruntled about the washing-up. Stressing without praying. Introspection, perhaps!

20. How did you spend Christmas?
In Bristol chez my Auntie’s, as almost always.

21. Did you fall in love in 2007?
Yes and no.

22. How many one-night stands?
Approx. zero again.

23. What was your favourite TV program?
Probably Scrubs.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Course not, can’t manage that any more thanks to God (yeah still stands)

25. What was the best book you read?
"The Irresistable Revolution", and "Rebecca" and "I Capture the Castle". Have read a lot of classics for once.
26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Ummmmmm, I quite like the Holloways (more new Ska!)
27. What did you want and get?
A job at Latin Link. A guitar song book. Look Around You, because I asked this year! HSM II which I’m too ashamed to decode for you.

28. What did you want and not get?
A life. 

29. What was your favourite film of this year?
Errrrrmmmm I failed to see almost all of the good ones I wanted to. Of the ones I saw, I very improbably enjoyed The Bourne Ultimatum the best, I think!
30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
24. Took several unwilling victims on a joint road trip with Simran. I enjoyed myself!
31.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
I’m not sure really – having seen more of the people I wanted to see?

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?
This year I will describe it as "the warm and impoverished cyclist".

33. What kept you sane?
JESUS again, he’s good at that. Added to doing a bit more creative writing, and the odd road trip.
34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I don’t really do this much any more – mainly cos I don’t watch enough TV. So dunno.

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
Probably the local ones this time, little injustices to the poor.

36. Whom did you miss?
Steve. James ESB and others from uni, my Bristol girls, Dave, my housemates and Arty at the moment!
37. Who was the best new person you met?
Whom did I meet this year? Hannah Davis!
38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007:
Don’t try to do too many things at once. Leave yourself some spare time to sit down, shut up and listen. Doing more stuff for the church does not increase your faith, and will not save your faith either. Just let God hold onto you. And most importantly – always wear a cycle helmet.

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
just thought of an obscure, but appropriate one by Bottlerockit (do they even still exist?):

"My bike’s no more a part of me,
I couldn’t hold on –
The coolest crash in history!
or was it stolen?
If you should ever lose control
this one’s golden:
my Dad says always ‘tuck and roll’,
and keep your pants on."
heehee
40. So in as few words as possible, how would you sum up your year?
Very slow and very busy. Hurting and healing.
Leave a Reply

