Time for a ritual

30 Dec
Yes, it’s time to do this again…. Bye bye 2009 :) It may be brief as I really ought to be in bed.
1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?
Watched X Factor with a paranoid schizophrenic. Watched X Factor. Drove the M4. Commuted full time. Made emo gingerbread men. Got snowed in. Went on the prayer team at a festival. Went to the south of France. Got a Company Bike. Got a decent sun tan. Went into hospital feeling well. Spoke German to some Swiss people. Ate a piece of Toblerone the size of my head. (To be honest this year has been far too unadventurous)
2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
It was to learn my times tables. I did it… but I think I’ve now forgotten them again.
I think this year I might do Project 365 again, it’s been a while and it was lots of fun.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Caroline had Ickle McNicoll! And Meg, and Nim, and everyone at OCC…
4. Did anyone close to you die?
Ross was a shocker, although that’s not so ‘close’. Poor old Arty.
5. What countries did you visit?
France (the lovely Provence) and Switzerland with the Hob. Good times.
6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
I know what I’d like… I’d also like some idea of what I might be doing in 2011. But that might not be for me to know.

7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Well, can’t remember any off hand.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Some stuff at work has been satisfying. But otherwise I’ve had a bit of a plodding year. Oh, I did finish my course – hurrah!

9. What was your biggest failure?
Right now I am thinking, my failure to change things that I could probably change.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I sprained my dodgy knee.. And then had £1000 of titanium removed from it, so that kept me crippled for a while again. And I was not a good patient.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
My comfy mattress!! No contest. (My car came for free…)
12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Janie Trewick, who entertains me every day and is a bit of an inspiration and somehow didn’t get mentioned in question 36 last year. Hannah Davis and her parents, for being the most generous people I know!
13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Same as last year plus another I won’t mention!
14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent, trains, bills, food (in that order). Plus some plane tickets to Peru!!
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Snowball fighting in Switzerland. Henrry not dying. And Jesus, every now and then :)
16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
Poker Face, probably.
If You Find Yourself Caught in Love – Belle & Sebastian.
How He Loves – David Crowder
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
Not sure really!
b) thinner or fatter?
Same-to-thinner
c) richer or poorer?
Richer, would you believe it. It won’t last.
18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Getting up to spend time with God. Muppet.
19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Commuting. Bickering.
20. How did you spend Christmas?
Down Bristle like in the olden days, being beaten at games by my cousins’ offspring.

21. Did you fall in love in 2009?
I wouldn’t go that far.

22. How many one-night stands?
Approx. zero again.

23. What was your favourite TV program?
It’s got to be Flight of the Conchords – my fad of the year!

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
No, God has made me sort things out before they got that far!
25. What was the best book you read?
"A Kind of Intimacy" – Jenn Ashworth. Really. "The Shack" (not because it’s a good book, per se..) I think I read "The Book Thief" and "The Historian" this year, they were ace. Maybe above all: "Everything Is Illuminated", which Liz leant to me. Grim but amazing.
26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
There are two:
Belle & Sebastian – which I’ve come to a bit late! Brilliant.
The David Crowder*Band – which cannot fail to move and inspire you.
27. What did you want and get?
A car. A clock radio.
28. What did you want and not get?
A guitar – I destroyed one instead. Whoops.
29. What was your favourite film of this year?
I can never remember… new films: Harry Potter 6 which was actually good (I was surprised). Surrogates was pretty cool.
30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
26, or 50 if you count Simon. We went to the donkey sanctuary, and then played blindfold hide and seek in the house. Actually that’s not what I did on my actual birthday – I spent that in Kidderminster at the Latin Link Debrief, chatting to Steppers, phoning Peru and praying for Henrry’s life!
31.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
A bit more spare time/inspiration.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
"I still haven’t bought any new clothes."

33. What kept you sane?
Jesus. And great people like Westi, Phu, Caroline and Simran.
34. What political issue stirred you the most?
Guantanamo Bay. ARGH!
35. Whom did you miss?
Bristolians, Phu, Arty…
36. Who was the best new person you met?
I nominate Michael Dornan and Dan Misson, who have both rather re-inspired me in different ways this year.
37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009:
Trust God more than Des O’Connor; don’t stick with the vacuum cleaner. He knows what is in the mystery box. :)

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
"With a name I’ve never chosen

I can take my first steps
as a child of twenty-five." (Snow Patrol)
39. So in as few words as possible, how would you sum up your year?
I blinked and missed it.
Leave a Reply

