this month has two alternative names

2 Nov

Movember

and

NaNoWriMo

So bascially, there’s plenty of opportunity to take on a challenge in the next 30 days, encouraged along by an international community of nutters doing the same thing – whether that’s growing a splendid moustache, or writing a 50,000 word novel.

I have sadly been excluded from undertaking one of these challenges by my genetic makeup (pretty grateful for that). As for the other… it sounds like a lot of fun trying to write a novel in 30 days, especially given all the other people giving it a go. The website shows you that over 700 people in Oxfordshire are taking part – this doesn’t massively surprise me. And it’s a great way to encourage people to practise writing, or just give it a go if they never have. But… to be honest, just hacking out the words until you get to a word count doesn’t really appeal to me. I don’t think you can write 50,000 words and call it a novel just because of its length – isn’t it more about the quality? I guess it would be a great idea to hack out a draft this month and then take your time afterwards editing it and making it into something good. Hmmm. Well, maybe if I didn’t already have a novel on the go which I really ought to be working on then I might join in… And if I had anywhere near the time required. I think it would mean having no life for a month.

Tomorrow I intend to spend some time sitting in the Blackwells’ cafe, and I shall do some subtle observation and count how many of the 700 NaNoWriMo-ers are sitting there feverishy typing away. Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

