The annual New Year ritual

2 Jan

So, Happy New Year! I had a lot of fun at our little New Year Stupid Hat party :) And now I feel I must continue this blogging tradition.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?
Saw films in 3D. Travelled to the summer during our winter. Learnt some Swedish. Drove on the M25. Filmed and edited a video. Wrestled a husky. Made ice cream. Went to the Apollo. Threw a susrpise party and kept a surprise visit secret. Ate an oyster. Made a tiramisu. Went to a school friend’s wedding. Bought a car (with money). Used a letting agent. Stood on a pavement in Miami. Read Chat magazine.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
It was to do Project 365 again, which I did – hurrah! This year… not thought about it yet, might make some… told the Moneyman we would resolve to do some pub quizzes.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Yes.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Not really.

5. What countries did you visit?
Peruuuu, Sweden, and the English Riviera.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
Ummmm, a better sense of direction, in every way!

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
My birthday was pretty memorable this year, as it involved two fights and my friends very unwisely dressing in drag and dancing.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Workwise, I think it has to be getting the prayer calendar finished on time. Otherwise, it was probably going to and mostly understanding seminars and talks in Spanish.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Never getting round to playing badminton or in fact doing any other exercise?? Generally retreating rather than trying to learn, a lot of the time.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I had bronchitis, which was a new one, a nice norovirus-type thing that I will always associate with election night, and the million Family Home Colds.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Hard to call between my car and my netbook.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Janie, who makes things work. Lois, for being an amazing, uncomplainingly helpful housemate (I’m now realising how much she did!). James for being brave. The Roman family for being crazily hospitable. Si Mortimore for fixing things. Plus the usual suspects who keep me sane.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Those in a continuing saga of depressingness. The wikileaks guy.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent, trains, bills, food (in that order).

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Seeing Henrry, Yasmin and my Peruvian family! Seeing Mumford and Sons live. Receiving a very unexpected message.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?
All of Mumford and Sons’ first album. And other pop folk.
La la la la la la la… You’re beautiful.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
I think, on this day compared to the same day last year, happier!

b) thinner or fatter?
Possibly fatter right now, post-Christmas laziness.

c) richer or poorer?
Ooh not sure – maybe richer as I haven’t just bought plane tickets.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
I really wish that my answer from last year wasn’t, “Getting up to spend time with God.” Put me down for more of the same. Sigh.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Existential angst. Being indecisive. Wasting time on Facebook.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
At my Auntie’s in Bristol as is tradition. Yum.

21. Did you fall in love in 2010?
No.

22. How many one-night stands?
Approx. zero again.

23. What was your favourite TV program?
New improved Doctor Who.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
No, although I may be more irritated with some :S

25. What was the best book you read?
“The Earth Hums in B Flat”. I think I am currently halfway through my next favourite!

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
It’s been all about new folk this year, mainly catalysed by the aforementioned Mumfords. Been fun to see friends’ bands live too!

27. What did you want and get?
A trip to Lima. A day off. A new car. A nicer house. Wow.

28. What did you want and not get?
Love.

29. What was your favourite film of this year?
Inception. Wonderfully crafted.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
27 :( Oh, I’ve already mentioned what I did. It was an extremely surreal but extremely funny day at “work”.

31.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
At the end of the year, I feel like it has been pretty satisfying actually. But more prayer would have made it more so.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
“My mum bought me this at Matalan.” Or, “I am not taking off this scarf or these ugg boots until the temperature is back in double figures.”

33. What kept you sane?
Chats with Westi, Caroline, Mike, Phu and Henrry. Singing at work. Writing stories. And Jesus.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
The general election! The tuition fees debate. And still Guantanamo Bay.

35. Whom did you miss?
Bristolians, Phu, and my married man mates.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
Well, Jon Murray now keeps me amused at work with a stream of annoying 90s hits. I met some legendary people in Sweden too.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 201o:
Life is like Scrabble, part deux: Don’t change your letters. And make sure you know the aim of the game you are playing.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
“I don’t have time to maintain these regrets
when I think about
the way
that He loves us.”

39. So in as few words as possible, how would you sum up your year?
A bit like a genie offering three wishes to someone who can’t count.

2 Responses to “The annual New Year ritual”

  1. Simon T 05/01/2011 at 11:54 pm #

    I guess I should read The Earth Hums in B Flat…

    And if you’re more into pop folk now, you should totally check out the band Hem. Their album Eveningland is so beautiful.

  2. Dark Puss 14/01/2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Do listen to “Unwoman” too!

Leave a Reply

