Freckle

9 Mar

Some time last year, some day that I didn’t notice, a freckle appeared on the palm of my right hand.

This seemed rather unusual, so I asked my doctor friends if I should be worried. They said no. It’s extremely uncommon to get one there, but there it is.

I wasn’t expecting a new freckle, especially not in such an improbable place. I was taken by surprise. But in actual fact, that freckle has been written in my genetic code since I was conceived. It was planned in. It was always meant to appear when I was 26. It’s just that, though I have lived in it all my life, I know less about my body than God does.

It’s funny, but a thing as tiny as this dot on my paw can make you think a big thought. I believe God picked out my genetic code and knows it off by heart. He knew about the 26th year palm freckle. And he knows about millions of other things that will happen in my body and in my life. Sometimes I think I am so clever and so in control of my world, but I don’t in fact know anything that is planned. I don’t even know what is going to happen to my skin cells.

When I was at my very lowest ebb, the really killer thought was that there was no hope for the future; that there was nothing to look forward to any more. At those times, it was hard to imagine anything at all happening to me at some future time – when I was ten years older, for example. There was a time when I couldn’t imagine being in 2010 or normal, enjoyable things happening there.

When I look at that freckle, it’s a reminder. If I ever can’t see beyond today, there are things already planned – or at least things already known about and looked forward to – by the one who made me. He knows the person I am going to be one day. He knows Mel at 26, 36, and 66. He knows what is written in my genes and what is written in his book.

Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.

He knew that in 2010, that freckle he designed would appear on my palm. And he knows what things he still has planned for later. I find that comforting, hope-inspiring, and rather exciting. Thanks, little dot.

3 Responses to “Freckle”

  1. Susan in TX 27/03/2011 at 2:01 am #

    Love this. I’ve got nearly 20 years on you, and I still have to remind myself of this. There was a day about 8 years ago that I was told I had a chronic disease and I actually told the doctor, “I don’t have time for this.” Surprised as I was by my diagnosis, as you so eloquently wrote, God wasn’t surprised at all. What a tool for sanctification it has proven to be in my “busy” life. And, what an amazing tool of growth for my children during a season when they had to grow up just a tiny bit quicker and do things few of their peers were expected to do. Mercifully, that particular season was relatively short, but the things we have all learned together are eternal. I actually lead a very normal life. (You wouldn’t know there was anything “wrong” with me if I didn’t tell you.) I don’t know how long my “normal” will be as easy as it is now, but God does. And I’m happy to trust Him with all the tomorrows He gives me.
    Thanks for posting this! (I’m going to add you to my bookmarks so I can find you easier.) :)

    • thepygmygiant 30/03/2011 at 4:17 pm #

      Thanks Susan. Awesome to hear your story :) It’s so good to know that God knows everything already. If you didn’t know he was good, this would be of no comfort. But if you know what he’s like, it’s all you need :)

  2. L 03/06/2017 at 12:38 am #

    Hi Mel, I just want to say thank you and I’m glad o stumbled upon your freckle while searching the internet for palm freckles. I too just had one magically appear at 36 and was freaked out by it. This blog post is much more calming then others I have read on the subject. Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

