Oswald says: Just do it.

13 Apr

I read this today, it’s sooooooooo true.

“All God’s revelations are sealed to us until they are opened to us by obedience. You will never get them open by philosophy or thinking. Immediately you obey, a flash of light comes. Let God’s truth work in you by soaking in it, not by worrying into it. Obey God in the thing He is at present showing you, and instantly the next thing is opened up. We read tomes on the work of the Holy Spirit when five minutes of drastic obedience would make things clear as a sunbeam. We say, “I suppose I shall understand these things some day.” You can understand them now: it is not study that does it, but obedience. The tiniest fragment of obedience, and heaven opens up and the profoundest truths of God are yours straight away. God will never reveal more truth about Himself till you obey what you know already. Beware of being wise and prudent.”

– Oswald Chambers.

But ironically, I don’t think you will even understand that statement unless you have ever actually put it into action ;)

For instance, I once read in the Bible that we should look out for the poor. I was completely unprepared and unenthusiastic about chatting with homeless people on the streets at night – but once I just got on with it, I learnt more about Jesus and saw him do way more amazing things than I could ever have understood by reading a bunch of books about him. And my experience was exactly as Oswald describes – sudden illumination. It just takes guts. Or maybe it just takes trust.

I think I am getting far too wise and prudent nowadays. I need to beware…

One Response to “Oswald says: Just do it.”

  1. Susan in TX 15/04/2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Ah, your post reminded me of the poem, “Do the Next Thing.” I googled it for a link and found it here: http://www.dayofgrace.net/Book/Articles/Poems1.htm
    You are right to caution yourself, though…it’s amazing how quickly I forget how very little I truly know (and so humbling!). :)
    Thanks for sharing with us! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

