brilliant review

22 Apr

Type a place you are trying to locate into Google maps, and you will also be shown any reviews of the establishment left by other, sad, bored internet users.

I was surprised to find this even applied when searching for “St Clements Car Park.” The review began thus:

“I parked in St Clements Car Park because I needed my car to be parked …”

Uh huh. What tragic being has actually taken the time to review a car park, I thought. But when, out of morbid curiosity, I clicked to read the rest of the review, I discovered a small work of genius. Whoever wrote this, kudos to you. I think I want to meet you.

“I parked in St Clements Car Park because I needed my car to be parked somewhere while I visited Oxford. I parked my car in the parking area of the car park, which was very easily done because the designers had divided the car park into a series of rectangles, each roughly car-sized, and all in neat lines. Having deposited my car at St Clements Car Park, I spent some time in the nearby town, and on return I found to my satisfaction that my car had remained completely stationary the whole time and was still parked in the original parking space in which I had parked it. It hadn’t moved a single inch in the intervening period and had been completely preserved in its original state. I was able to access my car, start the engine and move it with ease out of the original car parking space and back onto the road network, which is much like St Clements Car Park except that the cars move and there are no rectangular spaces and you don’t have to pay. I don’t know how the people who run St Clements Car Park do it but I can say that they offer a completely flawless car parking experience, beyond my wildest expectations. That is why I rated this location as ‘It was okay’, which is the highest praise I believe it is possible to lavish on a car park as excellent in its field as St Clements Car Park.”

3 Responses to “brilliant review”

  1. Diana E. Backhouse 22/04/2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Love it!

  2. Susan in TX 22/04/2011 at 9:35 pm #

    This one had me chuckling.

  3. Simon T 24/04/2011 at 12:17 am #

    This is awesome :)

Leave a Reply

