Westward Ho! bikes and horses.

3 Jun

I scored an Annual Leave Win this week, taking some time off fairly randomly but managing to catch some very good weather.

I fulfilled one of my road trip ambitions at the weekend, spending a few days with some of the Latin Link crew in the amazingly-named Westward Ho! I believe Westward Ho! is the only place in Britain with an exclamation mark in its name. This means you can’t even talk about it without sounding excited. “Actually, Westward Ho! is a bit boring,” just sounds wrong.

Anyway, it probably doesn’t really deserve the exclamation mark, but it does have a good game of crazy golf, a millennium mural and a beach with a lot of surf… Yeah, we had surfing fun times. And proper fish and chips.

millennium mural

(The Jungle Book? Really? Why?)

After that, I entertained my nephew, niece and sister, and then went to visit Phu in Warwick. We got lost in the park.

Today I spent a few hours in Port Meadow with my bike. The most amusing part was going over to greet the horses. One of them was very curious about the mechanical horse I was riding. It was like watching someone from the middle ages discover a car.

Horse Meets Mechanial Horse:

“Hello in there?”

“Hmmmm, a saddle, eh?”

“Wake up!”

“Not sure about this…”

The horse used its lips to spin the wheel around… and then it clomped a hoof down on the frame as if it disapproved of this modern technology disenfranchising horses. At this point I grabbed the bike back and rode off.

2 Responses to “Westward Ho! bikes and horses.”

  1. Simon T 04/06/2011 at 2:00 pm #

    Love it! Also love the idea of horses having the vote…
    And I needs me to see pictures of you surfing, please. And to hear how you and Phu managed to get lost in the park – although with your combined sense of direction, I’m not very surprised…

  2. Susan in TX 05/06/2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Love the pics – and your captions. :)

Leave a Reply

