Belgium

20 Oct

Whoops, long time no write anything.

Here’s a brief story… I’ve had a weird couple of months of being mainly really discouraged and occasionally really encouraged about church. It’s driving me mad that the Church (and our church) could be so much more beautiful than it is. I wish I didn’t care, to be honest. But I don’t think it’s just me doing the caring.

Anyway.

Yesterday I found out something a bit mad. Months ago, Stu and I gave a brief talk at the local Bible college about the church and social action. Stu spoke from James; I told a load of anecdotes, from streetwork, from Sweden, and from the brilliant Bristol Noise. I was roped into doing this at the last minute and didn’t think about it that much and haven’t thought about it since.

But the other day, Stu met a Belgian lady who had been one of the people at the talk. She said she was really affected by what we shared, and that her church in Belgium didn’t do anything like this. She was amazed to think these things could start small and simple. She emailed her church leaders and friends straight away. And it has completely changed the way the church operates.

It blows my mind to think that there’s now a church somewhere in Belgium reaching out to its community and sharing God’s love there, apparently just because Stu and I told a bunch of anecdotes. I’ve never even thought about Belgium. It reminded me that so often, we don’t even notice that we’re taking part in God’s plans.

Every time I experience one of those moments, I love this verse more:

Oh, the depth of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God!
How unsearchable his judgments,
and his paths beyond tracing out!

Leave a Reply

